Search This Blog


Imre Oláh at St. James Cathedral

Last Tuesday, Mom and I went to the organ recital at St. James Cathedral.

Imre Oláh played:

  • Toccata in F Major, BWV 540 by J.S. Bach
  • Adagio and Allegro, K 594 by W.A. Mozart
  • Prelude and Fugue in C minor, Op. 37 by Felix Mendelssohn
  • Consolation in D-Flat Major by Franz Liszt
  • Prelude and Fugue on the Theme of B-A-C-H by Franz Liszt

He was brilliant!

I loved it!
He had a balance of soft pieces as well as some loud powerful pieces which showed what the organ is capable of.

Before he played, he explained a little bit about the pieces that he was going to play.
One of the most interesting things he told us about was "B-A-C-H" which is a German notation where the "B" stands for B♭and the "H" stands for B♮.  (I am having trouble figuring out how to type the musical symbols - but I am still learning.)

So the Liszt piece "Prelude and Fugue on a Theme of B-A-C-H" is really "B flat - A - C- B natural".
Really cool!

The only thing I found strange in the concert was the guy walking around taking pictures. How could he have not noticed that a concert going on?

No comments:

Post a Comment